Further possible research methods

As previously stated, my main essay research will consist of a case study on the audio within Resident Evil 7. Doing a comparative analysis of the VR and non VR versions of this game and seeing how their sound differs. I will also see how this dual version release has differed from single version releases and if this is a new pathway that games are taking. The case study will consist of research through interviews with the sound team who produced the game, reviews of the game’s sound by trustworthy people and any other methods I find.

Along with the case study I am considering carrying out a survey. Asking people to play both versions of the game and gathering data to compare the players experience of the audio in both. This method will be time consuming and could be difficult to orchestrate getting multiple people to play the two versions as getting access to the VR equipment could be difficult. This research could back up the main case study though so if it is possible and there is time I may carry this out.

Further, I could incorporate my own experiences of the two versions of the game to give a first hand player experience. This would be highly subjective and conclusions made could not be taken as being absolute as these would be opinion based although my studies in this field would make the conclusions somewhat trustworthy. This method could just be used to back up the case study findings.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started